Our Board and Advisory Committee

2016-2017 Governing Board

HONORARY CHAIR                                                                                             
The Rt. Reverend Mariann Edgar Budde
Bishop of Washington

James R. Woody
Executive Director/President

Peter Lee, Chair
Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, Catalyst IT Services, Inc.

Jalene Spain Thomas, Vice Chair
Lower School Director, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes School

Jane Tucker DanaTreasurer 
Community Volunteer              
Top Row from Left: Robert Pinkard, James Lowe, Rev. Preston Hannibal, James Woody, Peter Lee, Anthony Parker and Thomas Barnett
Middle Row: Samuel Reid, Julia Berry, Sara Thorne, Catherine McDonald, Richard Beatty, Stephanie Cromwell and Concha Johson
Front Row: Maria Walker, Evie Rooney, Rev. Stuart Kenworthy, Tricia Pinkard, Jalene Spain Thomas, Sandi Hannibal, Valana McMickens and Barbara Van Allen
Photo by Valerie Woody
Stephanie Cromwell, Secretary

Thomas Barnett
Partner, Covington & Burling LLP
David Booth Beers
Counsel, Goodwin Procter LLP

Julia Berry
Head of School, St. Columba's Nursery School

Calvert S. Bowie
Principal, Bowie Gridley Architects
William H. Byrd
Psychologist, District of Columbia Public Schools

Dory Clark
Community Volunteer

Andrew Clarke
President, Asia Pacific Offset, Inc.

Alease Jackson
President of BWS Parents Association

Jane Tucker Dana
Community Volunteer

Reid Figel
Partner, Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel
Peter Gerry
Managing Partner, Sycamore Ventures
Robert Griffen
Vice President & Associate General Counsel, Verizon                 

The Rev. Canon Preston Hannibal
Sandi Hannibal
Retired Educator
Concha Johnson

The Rev. Stuart Kenworthy
Rector, Christ Church, Georgetown

Nicole Solomon Mitchell
Community Volunteer
Charles B. Molster, III
Partner, Winston & Strawn LLP

Annette Nazareth
Partner, Davis Polk
Anthony W. Parker
Owner & President, Parker Tide
Robert Pinkard
Principal, The Pinkard Group
Evie Rooney
Community Volunteer
Margot Semler Shorb
Community Volunteer

Nancy Sidamon-Eristoff
Community Volunteer

Robert E. Steele
Retired University Administrator

Sara Thorne
Community Volunteer

Barbara Van Allen
Marketing Executive

Maria Walker
Community Volunteer

Advisory Committee to the Governing Board

The Most Reverend Desmond M. Tutu, Honorary Chair
Anglican Archbishop Emeritus of Cape Town and 1984 Nobel Laureate

Kathleen and Oliver T. Carr, Jr.
Chairman, The Oliver Carr Company

Timothy C. Coughlin
Managing Director, Edgemoor Investment Advisors

The Rev. John H. Finley, IV
Head of School, Epiphany School, Dorchester, MA

Bruce S. Gordon and Tawana Tibbs
Past President, Retail Markets Division of Verizon Communications; past President of the NAACP

The Hon. C. Boyden Gray
Partner in Gray & Schmitz; former ambassador to the European Union and Counsel to the President

The Hon. Amory Houghton
Former CEO, Corning Glass Works; former Congressman from New York's 29th District

Colbert I. King
Columnist, Washington Post

The Rev. Anthony J. Motley
Commissioner, Commission on African American Affairs for the District of Columbia

Alma J. Powell
Chair, America's Promise Alliance

The Rev. Kwasi A. A. Thornell, D. Min.
First Chaplain, Bishop John T. Walker School for Boys

Agnes C. Underwood
Vice President, Carney Sandoe & Associates; former Headmistress, National Cathedral School for Girls

The Rev. Dr. Wesley S. Williams, Jr.
President & Co-chairman, Lockhart Companies Incorporated
Bishop John T. Walker School for Boys | 3640 Martin Luther King, Jr. Ave. SE | Washington DC 20032